Webster Awards

Today the Jack Webster Foundation carries on Jack’s legacy by fostering and celebrating excellence in journalism to protect the public interest for British Columbians by holding, amongst other programs and initiatives, the Foundation’s signature event — the annual Jack Webster Awards for excellence in journalism in BC.

35th Annual Jack Webster Awards

This year the 2021 Webster Awards event will take place online. Stand by to hear that date and for now, journalists across the province are encouraged to consider which stories they’ll submit.

2021 Webster Awards

Call for submissions now closed

Whereas submissions for 2021 are not longer being accepted, check out the categories and plan your 2022 submissions.

Watch the event recap

Across the globe today a struggle exists to protect and nurture a free and independent press. At home, here in BC, the Jack Webster Foundation’s vision is to be a part of the solution by creating a community where trusted outstanding journalism thrives. We do this by holding the annual Webster Awards. The awards represent a unified voice that truth and accuracy in storytelling still matter, and that excellence in journalism is important, now more than ever.