jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2019 Jack Webster Awards:

2018 Jack Webster Awards Winners Announced

Download the news release (pdf, 132.3k)

(Vancouver, BC) - Western Canada's preeminent journalism awards were presented this evening at the 2018 Jack Webster Awards, held at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Vancouver BC. The awards recognize excellence in journalism in BC.

Submissions were encouraged from print, radio, television and online media sources that cover news, sports, the arts, business, community issues, and more. The winners for the 2018 Jack Webster Awards are:

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Television
Jill Bennett, John Hua, Catherine Urquhart, Grace Ke, Global BC News for Soliris Fight

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Radio
Bal Brach, Laura Palmer, Stephen Quinn, Matthew Parsons, Lee Rosevere, CBC Radio One, for SOLD!

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Print/Text-Based Online
Sam Cooper, Vancouver Sun/The Province, for Dirty Money in BC: Casinos, Drugs, Real Estate

Excellence in Business, Industry and Economics Reporting
Rob Shaw, Vancouver Sun/The Province, for The economics of public auto insurance

Excellence in Legal Journalism
Laura Kane, Geordon Omand, The Canadian Press, for Jordan Decision, One Year Later

Excellence in Science, Technology and Environment Reporting
Johanna Wagstaffe, Polly Leger, Lee Rosevere, Shiral Tobin, CBC Radio One, for 2050: Degrees of Change

Best Reporting Chinese Language
Susanna Ng, Ivy Ng, Eva Cheng, Eric Chan, Victoria Chang, Amanda Sun, Ming Pao Daily, for Hongkongers in Canada - on the 20th anniversary of Hong Kong's handover

Best Community Reporting
Max Winkelman, Tara Sprickerhoff, Barbara Roden, 100 Mile House Free Press/Ashcroft Cache Creek Journal, for Fire Fight

Excellence in Digital Journalism
Justin McElroy, cbc.ca/bc, for We've tracked every promise the BC NDP made in the last election: Here's where they stand

Best Breaking News Reporting - Television
Geoff Hastings, Aaron McArthur, Darryl Patton, Stephen Lyon, Keith Whitter, Monty Burt, Karl Avefjall, Simon Boniface, Luca Sgaetti, Global BC News, for Cst. Davidson Shot

Best Breaking News Reporting - Radio
Stephen Quinn, Lee Rosevere, Drew Kerekes, Jake Costello, Bridgette Watson, Yvette Brend, Claudia Goodine, Michelle Eliot, Theresa Duvall, Chris Robinson, Rob Zimmerman, Rafferty Baker, Megan Thomas, CBC Radio One, for The morning Canada bought a pipeline

Best Breaking News Reporting - Print/Text-Based Online
Scott Brown, Cheryl Chan, Lori Culbert, Nick Eagland, Gordon Hoekstra, Stephanie Ip, Patrick Johnston, Rich Lam, Glenda Luymes, Harrison Mooney, Jason Payne, Jennifer Saltman, Vancouver Sun/The Province, for BC Wildfires 2017

Commentator of the Year/City Mike Award
John Gleeson, Coast Reporter

Also at the awards, the 2018 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Clive Jackson and the 2018 Bill Good Award was presented to Donna Logan. Keith Morrison, an award-winning correspondent for Dateline NBC who joined the program in 1995 after a prominent career at both NBC and in Canadian television was the event's guest speaker.

This year's Jack Webster Awards were made possible by Air Canada, BCGEU, Coast Capital Savings, FortisBC, Global Container Terminals Inc., Greater Vancouver Board of Trade, Lyft, The Pattison Group, Port of Vancouver, UDI, and Vancity. Hyphen, video sponsor and Rocky Mountain Railtours, door prize sponsor.

The Jack Webster Foundation was founded in 1986 and named after the man who was Western Canada's best-known and most influential reporter. He left his mark on the B.C. journalism scene with his hard-hitting reporting style. In his more than 40 years of print, radio and television journalism, Jack Webster was synonymous with insightful, accurate and unabashed reporting. Today the Jack Webster Foundation carries on Jack's legacy by promoting and recognizing the achievements of B.C.- based reporters by: holding the annual Jack Webster Awards for excellence in journalism in BC, awarding annual Student Awards to senior journalism students, awarding Professional Development Fellowships to working journalists, and providing educational seminars for the media.


For more information, contact:
Janet Mitchell, Executive Director
Jack Webster Foundation, T 604-603-4218
E info@jackwebster.com W www.jackwebster.com

Thanks to Cision for sponsoring this announcement

back to the What's New page

back to top

Back to the
What's New page