jack webster foundation

2017 Jack Webster Awards Winners

Download the news release (pdf, 108.1k)

Fifteen Webster Awards were presented tonight at the 31th annual Jack Webster Awards in Vancouver.

Best Breaking News Reporting of the Year - Print
Andrea Woo, Sunny Dhillon, Wendy Stueck, Mike Hager, Mark Hume, Ian Bailey, Ben Nelms, Rafal Gerszak, James Keller, Luiz Lopes, The Globe and Mail: Cheque Day

Best Breaking News Reporting of the Year - Radio
Stephen Quinn, Richard Zussman, Justin McElroy, Theresa Duvall, Michelle Eliot, Chris Robinson, Polly Leger, CBC Radio Vancouver: The Deal

Best Breaking News Reporting of the Year - Television
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
Skye Ryan, CHEK News: Missing Boy Found

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
Tyler Olsen, Abbotsford News: State of Emergency

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology Health & Environment
Dan Fumano, The Vancouver Sun: Troubled Waters

Best Reporting Chinese Language
Johnny Wong, Fairchild Television: Magazine 26: Where Should I Stay

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Print
Travis Lupick, Amanda Siebert, Georgia Straight Newspaper: A community response: How the worst overdose epidemic in Vancouver's history left the Downtown Eastside to fend for itself

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Radio
Gordon Katic, Sam Fenn, Alexander B. Kim, Travis Lupick, Nancy Mullane, Cited & The Georgia Straight: The Heroin Clinic

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Television
Michele Brunoro, Maria Weisgarber, Mi-Jung Lee, Jon Woodward, Brian Mellersh, CTV Vancouver and CTV's W5: Overdose Crisis

Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
Erica Johnson, James Roberts, Amar Parmar, Karen Burgess, Alison Broddle, CBC Vancouver: The Big Sell: How bank employees turn customers into targets

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
Dan Fumano, Matt Robinson, The Vancouver Sun: The Tallio Appeal

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
Justine Hunter, Jimmy Jeong, Mychaylo Prystupa, The Globe and Mail: Weigh Anchor

Commentator of the Year
Presented in memory of Linda Webster
Yvette Brend, CBC Vancouver

2017 Bill Good Award
Dave Obee

2017 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
Kim Bolan

The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize excellence in journalism in British Columbia. The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of HSBC Bank Canada, FortisBC, Wazuku Advisory Group, Global Container Terminals, Port of Vancouver, Labatt Breweries, Coast Capital, UDI, Vancity, TELUS and Toronto Dominion Bank.

For more information, please contact the Jack Webster Foundation at 604-618-6949 or info@jackwebster.com.

back to the What's New page

back to top

Back to the
What's New page