jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2019 Jack Webster Awards:

Kim Bolan named Lifetime Achievement Award recipient

Download the news release (pdf, 107.8k)

VANCOUVER, BC - The Jack Webster Foundation today announced that Kim Bolan, a veteran reporter for The Vancouver Sun, will receive the 2017 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award.

Bolan will receive the award at the 31st Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner on October 12, 2017.

The dinner, featuring CBC News Washington Correspondent Paul Hunter, will also honour the finalists for the 2017 Webster Awards, 13 of whom will win a coveted Webster statue.

The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism in honour of legendary BC reporter Jack Webster. The Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, the foundation's premier honour, is named after the illustrious Vancouver Sun journalist who started out at the Victoria Times in 1917 and went on to become the confidant of prime ministers.

"It is a huge honour to get this recognition from the Webster Foundation in the name of such a renowned journalist and following in the footsteps of so many talented people in the media," Bolan said.

Bolans is known for her outstanding reporting covering topic such as the Air India terrorist bombing, organized crime in B.C. and the on-going issue of gang violence. Her career has spanned 33 years so far, all at The Vancouver Sun. Bolan and has been honoured with a Courage in Journalism Award presented by International Women's Media Foundation, the 1st Press Freedom Award from the National Press Club of Canada, two National Newspaper Awards, two CAJ awards and six Jack Webster Awards.

"Kim Bolan is the kind of gutsy, hard-nosed reporter who is becoming increasingly rare, and increasingly valuable," said Jack Webster Foundation Co-Chair Ernest Yee. "Like Jack Webster, her career shows how dogged attention to the police beat can hold up a fascinating mirror to our community."

"Personal security has never been the determining factor in Kim's work," Co-Chair Anne McMullin said. "Her reporting has gone into dangerous territory time after time, and her readers always benefit from the journey."

Previous winners of the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award include: Shelley Fralic, Gary Mason, Brian Coxford, David Baines, Patricia Graham, Mel Rothenburger, Jim Taylor, Bill Good, Steve Wyatt, Jim Harrison, Vaughn Palmer, Vicki Gabereau, Tony Parsons, Rafe Mair, Allan Fotheringham, Patrick Nagle, Roy Peterson, Cameron Bell, Keith Bradbury, Dan McLeod, Denny Boyd, George Garrett, Moira Farrow, Jim Hume, Warren Barker, Len Norris, and Hutchison himself.

The 31st Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner will be held October 12, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency Vancouver. Tickets are $185 per person and can be reserved at jackwebster.com/dinner or by calling 604-261-6184.

The work of the Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of HSBC Bank Canada, GCT, Global Container Terminals, Coast Capital Savings, Fortis BC, UDI, Labatt Breweries, Port of Vancouver, Wazuku Advisory Group, Vancity, TELUS, and TD.

CNW distributes Jack Webster Award releases as part of its support of the Jack Webster Foundation.

For more information, contact:
Jack Webster Foundation
Nora Newlands, Executive Director

back to the What's New page

back to top

Back to the
What's New page