jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2020 Jack Webster Awards:

Finalists for 2020 Webster Awards Announced

The finalists in the 14 different categories for the 2020 Webster Awards, Western Canada's preeminent journalism awards, were announced today. The awards recognize excellence in journalism in B.C. All finalists will be celebrated, and the one winner in each category will be announced during the December 8th online awards ceremony, 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time. This online event is free for everyone to watch and can be accessed at this web address: www.ohboy.ca/webster-awards.

Submissions were encouraged from print, radio/podcasts, television and online media sources that cover news, sports, the arts, business, community issues, and more.

Also, during the awards broadcast the 2020 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to John Daly, presently with 980 CKNW, and the 2020 Bill Good Award will be presented to Candis Callison, Associate Professor UBC School of Journalism, Writing, and Media & Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies. The broadcast will be hosted by Anita Bathe, co-host and front-line investigative reporter, CBC Vancouver News.

The 2020 Jack Webster Awards Finalists are:

Best Breaking News Reporting - Print/Online
  • Brent Jang, Nancy Macdonald, Wendy Stueck, Jimmy Jeong
    The Globe and Mail
    Wet'suwet'en Protest
  • Mike Hager, Ian Bailey, Andrea Woo, Rafal Gerszak, Chad Hipolito, Jana Pruden, Renata D'Aliesio, Melissa Tait, Justin Ling
    The Globe and Mail
  • Scott Brown, Tiffany Crawford, Nick Eagland, Keith Fraser, Dan Fumano, Nathan Griffiths, Gordon Hoekstra, Stephanie Ip, Glenda Luymes, Gordon McIntyre, Derrick Penner, Jennifer Saltman, Rob Shaw
    Vancouver Sun/The Province
    B.C. Pandemic 2020

Best Breaking News Reporting - Radio/Podcast/Audio
  • Gord Macdonald, Janet Brown, Terry Schintz, John Copsey, Erin Ubels, Srushti Gangdev, Robyn Crawford, Emily Lazatin
    AM980 CKNW
    Northern B.C. Murders
  • Gord Macdonald, Janet Brown, Terry Schintz, John Copsey, Erin Ubels, Srushti Gangdev, Robyn Crawford, Emily Lazatin, Neetu Garcha
    AM980 CKNW
    Metro Vancouver Transit Strike
  • Sonia Aslam, Alison Bailey, Marcella Bernardo, Tim James, Martin MacMahon, Cormac MacSweeney, Peter Wagner
    Canada's First COVID-19 Death

Best Breaking News Reporting - TV/Video
Presented in memory of Keith Bradbury
  • CTV Vancouver News Team
    CTV Vancouver
    State of Emergency - The Pandemic Arrives in B.C.
  • Rumina Daya, Sarah MacDonald, Tanya Beja, Nadia Stewart, Luca Sgaetti, Ted Anhorn, Chris Koster, Mike Louie, Sergio Magro, Justin Okines, Allan Coen
    Global News
    Northern B.C. Manhunt
  • Paul Johnson, Sarah MacDonald, Luca Sgaetti, Cody Chaban, Darrell Patton
    Global News
    Snowbirds Crash

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Reporting
  • Jodie Martinson, Stephen Quinn, Theresa Duvall, Anita Bathe, Mike Killeen, Mark Gryski, N.J. McDonnell, Mark Fairfield, Ross Bragg, Will Howie, Greg Kisser, Matt Brown, Richard Grundy, Fred Gagnon, Ken Leedham, Martin Diotte, Eric Pankratz, Sean MacLaren
    CBC Vancouver
    When is Enough Enough? A CBC Town Hall from Vancouver's Downtown Eastside
  • Jared Qwustenuxun Williams
    The Discourse
    Building Bridges Through Curiosity in Cowichan
  • Lori Culbert
    Vancouver Sun/The Province
    Tamara and her Trans Drop-In

Best Reporting - Chinese Language
  • Annie Pui Shan Law
    Fairchild Television
    Magazine 26 - Death: The Elephant in the Room
  • Jocelyn Wong
    Fairchild Television
    Magazine 26-Silver Alert
  • Yuji Zhang, Kristin Johnson, Guo Ding, Nathen Sekhon, Richard Tang, Ricky Tong, Omni Camera Crew
    20 Years of Vancouver Chinatown's Revitalization: Where Will It Lead?

Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting
  • Sarah Penton, Josh Pagé
    CBC Kelowna
    Recovery: Stories from the Ashes
  • Marty Hastings
    Kamloops This Week
    Dalkes lose son, brother to fentanyl - 'This part of me is missing'
  • Kelsie Kilawna, Chehala Leonard, Athena Bonneau, Lindsay Sample
    IndigiNews Okanagan
    Sharing Indigenous News and Perspectives in the Okanagan

City Mike Award (Commentator of the Year)
The City Mike Award is named after the groundbreaking CJOR program that established Jack Webster as one of BC's pre-eminent commentators, and is presented in memory of Linda Webster.
  • John Gleeson
    Coast Reporter
  • Wawmeesh Hamilton & Gordon Loverin
    CBC Vancouver
    Urban Nation
  • Andrew Nikiforuk
    The Tyee

Jack Webster Business, Industry, Labour & Economics Award
Endowed by Jean Cormier
  • Jimmy Thomson
    The Narwhal
    'You're out there alone': whistleblowers say workplace abuse hides true impacts of B.C.'s trawl fishery
  • Shannon Paterson, Ross McLaughlin, St. John Alexander, Jon Woodward, Allison Hurst, David Molko, Andrew Weichel, Bob Mackin
    CTV Vancouver
    Economic Catastrophe - BC Business Faces the Pandemic
  • Dan Fumano & Lori Culbert
    Vancouver Sun/The Province
    Blindsided: BC's Condo Insurance Crisis

Jack Webster Award for Science, Technology & Environment
  • Michele Brunoro
    CTV Vancouver
    The 3800 Club - My Journey With Cancer
  • Emma Gilchrist, Sarah Cox, Taylor Roades
    The Narwhal
    Canada's Forgotten Rainforest
  • Andrew Nikiforuk & Amorina Kingdon
    Hakai Magazine
    From Berth to Death

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
Sponsored by the Law Society of British Columbia
  • Lori Culbert & Dan Fumano
    Vancouver Sun/The Province
    20 Silent Years of Sexual Abuse
  • Carol Linnitt, Emma Gilchrist, Judith Lavoie, Louis Bockner
    The Narwhal
    The Tsilhqot'in battle against the New Prosperity Mine
  • Douglas Todd
    Vancouver Sun
    British Columbians Fight U.S. Billionaire for 'Right to Roam' in the Wilderness

Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Digital Journalism
  • Team Web B.C.
    CBC British Columbia
    Tracking COVID-19 in B.C.
  • Jesse Lupini, Koby Michaels, Lucas Kavanagh, Jeanette Ageson, Chris Cheung, David Beers, Robyn Smith, Paul Willcocks, Mashal Butt
    The Tyee
    COVID-19 Multimedia Explainers

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Print/Online
  • Amy Smart
    The Canadian Press
    The people who cared for him: How a single COVID-19 case moved through the system
  • Gordon Hoekstra
    Vancouver Sun
    Anatomy of Money Laundering in B.C. Real Estate: 12 cases, $1.7 billion, 20 countries and 30 banks
  • Katie Hyslop
    The Tyee
    Undone: A Newcomer's Story
  • Larry Pynn
    Hakai Magazine
    The Tale of Dirty, Old, Leaky Zalinski

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - Radio/Podcast/Audio
  • Angela Sterritt
    CBC Vancouver
    Racism at BMO
  • Wawmeesh Hamilton, Rafferty Baker, Joan Webber
    CBC Radio, The Current
    Not Alone
  • Francesca Fionda & Mitchell Stuart
    Attention Control/CTV
    The data on us

Excellence in Feature/Enterprise Reporting - TV/Video
  • Scott Roberts & Jon Woodward
    CTV Vancouver
    Discreditable Conduct - Sexual Harassment at the VPD
  • Michele Brunoro, David Molko, Penny Daflos, Allison Hurst
    CTV Vancouver
    Failing Our Most Vulnerable - COVID-19 in B.C. Care Homes
  • Christian Amundson, Liam Britten, Fiona Hopewell Jensen, Maggie MacPherson, Belle Puri, Eric Rankin, Paisley Woodward
    CBC Vancouver
    35-Minute Rescue Delay Prompts Ministry Investigation

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
  • John Daly
    980 CKNW

Bill Good Award
  • Candis Callison
    UBC School of Journalism, Writing, and Media & Institute for Critical Indigenous Studies

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award