jack webster foundation

We gratefully acknowledge our sponosors of the 2019 Jack Webster Awards:

The Jack Webster Foundation's Bill Good Award recognizes the positive impacts of journalism in BC communities

About the Bill Good Award
The Bill Good Award was announced in 2014 to honour Bill Good on his retirement from 50 years as a broadcast journalist at CTV, CKNW, BCTV (now Global BC) and CBC. Good received the Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award in 2009.

Award Criteria
The award honours a BC individual or organization that makes significant contributions to the province's journalism community or to a community's enrichment via journalism. The foundation reviews the achievements of journalism educators, news media individuals, organizations, and business leaders of news organizations, among others, that create social/material improvements in their communities. Recipients of this award, like Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award, are chosen by a decision of the Jack Webster Foundation Board of Directors. Please note that all other Jack Webster Awards are chosen by an independent juried process that operates at strict arm's-length from the Jack Webster Foundation Board of Directors.


The Jack Webster Foundation Announces Donna Logan as the 2018 Bill Good Award Recipient

Donna LoganThere's no doubt that Donna Logan exceeds the criteria for the Bill Good Award as she's indeed made significant contributions to the province's journalism community, notably by being involved in the establishment of, and being the Founding Director of the UBC Graduate School of Journalism (1997- 2007). However, her contributions don't just lie there. She was President of the Canadian Media Research Consortium (2005-2014), a partnership of three graduate programs in Canada: UBC Graduate School of Journalism, York/Ryerson Graduate Programme in Culture and Communications and Centre d'etudes sur les medias, Universite Laval and prior to that, in 2004, she led a team of researchers that conducted the first public survey of Canadian attitudes toward the media. Donna's career and contributions to journalism have also been in the newsroom as she was Deputy Managing Editor of the Montreal Star 1976-1979 and then held several senior executive positions with the CBC as Chief Journalist and Managing Editor, National Radio News; Program Director, and then Vice-President of CBC Radio; VP Regional Broadcasting Operations (English/French and Radio/TV); VP Media Accountability and Regional Director for B.C. Find out more about Donna's vast contributions to journalism in BC and across Canada at the October 29th Jack Webster Awards.


The Jack Webster Foundation Announces David Obee as the 2017 Bill Good Award Recipient

Dave ObeeDave Obee, Editor-in-Chief of the Times Colonist, is the 2017 Bill Good Award winner.

Obee received the award at the 31st Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner on October 12, 2017.

A journalist since 1972, and at the TC since 1997, Obee is a founder of the TC's annual book sale, which has raised a total of $4.5 million for his community's schools and literacy organizations.

He's equally well known for his genealogical and historical research activities, having written a dozen books that share his knowledge of genealogical tools. As well he has given more than 600 talks around the world about his passion. A member of the board of Canada's History Society, Obee has received the Governor General's Caring Canadian Award and an honorary doctorate of laws from the University of Victoria.


Rob Dykstra named 2016 Bill Good Award recipient

Rob DykstraThe Jack Webster Foundation today announced that Rob Dykstra, a 32-year member of the Langara College Journalism Program, will receive the 2016 Bill Good Award at the 30th Annual Jack Webster Awards Dinner on October 20, 2016.

Rob has dedicated much of his professional life to teaching generations of journalists - more than 1,000 in total. Retired earlier this year, Rob served as instructor, co-ordinator and chair of the Langara Journalism Program. He oversaw the introduction of new courses, launched the Langara Journalism Review, and taught most every course in the Journalism Program curriculum. His legacy will always be the members of the media in BC and nationally who received the benefit of his knowledgeable instruction. Rob has made a profound contribution to journalism in our province.


Don Cayo receives the 2015 Bill Good Award

Don CayoDon Cayo is a Vancouver Sun columnist who has enriched BC's journalism community by sharing his decades of experience with young reporters. As leader of the JWF Seeing the World Through New Eyes Program (2005-2010), Don mentored more than 25 young or new BC journalists on a series of unforgettable assignments all over the developing world.

Bill Good Award dinner presentation videos

back to top
Follow us on Twitter @JackWebsterFdn

Jack Webster Awards Winners and Finalists

Photos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Videos from the
Past Awards Dinners

Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Good Award